Monday 13 August 2012
7.30pm – c9.35pm
Royal Albert Hall

  • Sergey Prokofiev

    Romeo and Juliet – Suite No. 1, Op 64a (30 mins)
    • Philharmonia Orchestra
    • Susanna Mälkki conductor
  • Olga Neuwirth

    Remnants of Songs ... an Amphigory (20 mins) UK premiere
    • Lawrence Power viola
    • Philharmonia Orchestra
    • Susanna Mälkki conductor
  • Béla Bartók

    Concerto for Orchestra, Sz 116 (37 mins)
    • Philharmonia Orchestra
    • Susanna Mälkki conductor

About this event

Susanna Mälkki returns to the Proms with two genre-defining 20th-century favourites. Revisiting the doomed love of Verona’s most romantic couple, Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet effectively revivified the evening-length ballet, just as Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra cemented the potential of an apparently contradictory title.

Between these classics, Lawrence Power joins the Philharmonia Orchestra to tackle the fiendishly difficult solo part in Olga Neuwirth’s recent work for viola and orchestra, comprising five breathtaking, seething, allusion-rich movements.


Discover the Music

Download a short audio guide published on the day about a key work in tonight’s Prom: Tom Service talks about Bartók's Concerto for Orchestra.

The Proms Archive

Search by: