Monday 13 August 2012
1.00pm – c2.00pm
Cadogan Hall

Chamber music & Saturday matinees, Piano and organ

  • J. S. Bach

    Partita No. 2 in D minor for solo violin, BWV 1004 – Chaconne (13 mins)
    • Nicola Benedetti violin
  • Erich Wolfgang Korngold

    Die tote Stadt – Marietta’s Song; Pierrot’s Dance Song (arr. Korngold) (11 mins)
    • Nicola Benedetti violin
    • Alexei Grynyuk piano
  • Johannes Brahms

    Piano Trio No. 3 in C minor (30 mins)
    • Nicola Benedetti violin
    • Leonard Elschenbroich cello
    • Alexei Grynyuk piano
  • Robert Schumann

    Piano Trio No. 3 in G minor, Op. 110 – 2nd movement (6 mins) Encore
    • Leonard Elschenbroich cello
    • Alexei Grynyuk piano
    • Nicola Benedetti violin

About this event

One of Britain’s most popular young violinists returns for the second of three appearances this season, performing mostly in the company of her regular chamber music partners.

The programme begins with the many-voiced solo of Bach’s Chaconne and concludes with Brahms’s most dramatic and tightly argued piano trio, No. 3 in C minor, composed in 1886 while on a productive summer holiday in Switzerland.

The violinist is joined by Kiev-born pianist Alexei Grynyuk and German cellist Leonard Elschenbroich.

There will be no interval

The Proms Archive

Search by:

Share this page

Share this with

Read more about these links.