Playing: Ballad of the Motherland [Maybe somewhere the sky Is blue] for voice and orchest by Aram Khachaturian
Image for Haydn: String Quartets Op. 33 'Russian'

Haydn: String Quartets Op. 33 'Russian'

Duration: 41:51

The six string quartets that Joseph Haydn composed around 1781 - his Op. 33 - contain some of his most inspired and innovative music. Stephen Johnson joins the members of the Wihan Quartet in front of an audience at the Jacqueline du Pre Hall in Oxford to reveal and to revel in the delights of Haydn's musical wit and invention.

Available since: Mon 2 Jun 2014


Joseph Haydn

This clip is from

Discovering Music Haydn: Op. 33 Quartets

Stephen Johnson joins the Wihan Quartet to look at Haydn's six string quartets, Op. 33.

First broadcast: 11 Dec 2004

Image for Haydn: Op. 33 Quartets Not currently available

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss