Serenades and Symphonies

Charles Hazlewood explores the very different ways in which Richard Strauss and Igor Stravinsky approached writing for wind ensemble. He compares the youthful and mature Strauss through the Serenade and Sonatina no. 1 and examines how Stravinsky marshalled his larger forces in the iconic Symphonies of Wind Instruments.

Performances by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, conducted by Douglas Boyd.

The full music performances are not available for rights reasons.

Release date:


33 minutes


Role Contributor
ComposerRichard Strauss
ComposerIgor Stravinsky

This clip is from

Featured in...