iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Suite in G - from Nouvelles Suites de Pieces de Clavecin arr. for wind quintet by Jean-Philippe Rameau
Image for Britten: Cello Symphony

Britten: Cello Symphony

Duration: 52:01

Stephen Johnson visits Glasgow for an exploration of Benjamin Britten's Cello Symphony, with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and soloist, Tim Hugh, conducted by Takuo Yuasa.

Written in 1963 for the great Russian cellist Mstislav Rostropovich, who gave the premiere a year later, the piece is full of dark colours. It uses the bass sonorities of the orchestral texture: low strings, bassoons, tuba and bass drum, allowing the cello's tenor register to sing out of the mire.

The piece has a four-movement symphonic structure, with the last two linked by a solo cello cadenza, which, Stephen argues, makes the piece more of a symphony than a cello concerto, as the composer suggests in the work's title.

Available since: Thu 22 May 2014


This clip is from

Discovering Music Britten Cello Symphony

Stephen Johnson joins the BBC SSO to explore the intricacies in Britten's Cello Symphony.

First broadcast: 18 Oct 2009

Image for Britten Cello Symphony Not currently available

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss