Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto

Charles Hazlewood is joined by the BBC Concert Orchestra and violinist Alexander Sitkovetsky for an in-depth examination of Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto, a work originally rejected by its dedicatee, violinist Leopold Auer, as unplayable. Composed in 1878, the piece was written during a stay in Switzerland, where Tchaikovsky was joined by his composition pupil, the violinist Iosif Kotek.

Release date:


1 hour, 20 minutes


This clip is from

Related topics

Featured in...