On Now : Breakfast
Playing: Trio sonata no. 5 in F major, no.3; Allegro by Jan Dismas Zelenka
BBC Radio 3

Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1

Stephen Johnson examines Tchaikovsky's popular First Piano Concerto with pianist, Ashley Wass and the BBC Philharmonic. Tchaikovsky's piece is one of the best loved in the repertory, an archetype of the great Romantic concerto, with its weighty gestures and great sweeping melodies. The concerto has often been criticised however for seemingly lacking cohesion - something that Stephen Johnson refutes as he examines the idea of relationships in the work.

Release date: 02 May 2014

45 minutes


Role Contributor
ComposerPyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

This clip is from

Featured in...

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss