First transmitted in 2001, Charles Hazlewood talks to Karlheinz Stockhausen about his life and work. The German composer is shown in rehearsal and performing his work.Known for his ground-breaking work in electronic music the ‘Papa of Techno’ discusses his influence on artists including Björk, Grateful Dead and Portishead. Stockhausen also reflects on the importance of dreams on his work and recalls the dream that led him to create one of his best-know pieces: Helikopter-Streichquartett. The composition requires the four members of a string quartet to each perform in a separate helicopter whilst circling in the sky.

Release date:

Available now

49 minutes

Last on

Sat 13 Oct 2001 18:00

BBC Four Modern Classical Music Collection

BBC Four Modern Classical Music Collection
This programme is part of a collection of programmes featuring trailblazing 20th Century classical music composers.

Go to the BBC Four Modern Classical Music Collection

About BBC Four Collection programmes

Programmes are selected, in part, for their historical context and reflect the broadcast standards and attitudes of their time, which may not accord to some current BBC editorial guidelines. We aim to select programmes which can be shown in their entirety but in some cases edits are required.


Role Contributor
PresenterCharles Hazlewood
DirectorDavid Thompson
ProducerDavid Thompson
ParticipantKarlheinz Stockhausen

Featured in...