Image for Part 02: Vivaldi's The Four Seasons

Part 02: Vivaldi's The Four Seasons

Duration: 05:21

Antonio Vivaldi (1675 – 1741) - Spring, from The Four Seasons

Andrew Manze conducts the string instruments of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in extracts from one of the most popular pieces of classical music ever written. This is Baroque music from Italy. There are two parts to the piece: the first is Allegro (lively) and the second is Adagio (slow). The slow movement features a violin solo played by the Leader of the Orchestra, Laura Samuel.

Available since: Mon 19 Nov 2012

This clip is from

Anatomy of an Orchestra

Associate Guest Conductor Andrew Manze explains to schools how an orchestra works.

Image for Anatomy of an Orchestra

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss