Sorry, this clip is not currently available

Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 4

Martin Handley introduces a live performance of Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto No 4 from the Lighthouse, Poole.

The Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra and Kirill Karabits are joined by the brilliant twenty-six year old pianist, Denis Kozhukin.

Rachmaninov's Fourth Piano Concerto ended an eight year drought following the composer's enforced move from his homeland following the Russian Revolution. The concerto is by turns improvisatory, jazzy and yet typically noble.


28 minutes


Role Contributor
ComposerSergei Rachmaninov
OrchestraBournemouth Symphony Orchestra
PerformerKirill Karabits

This clip is from