BBC New Comedy Award 2012: Brighton heat

On 25 September, the local residents packed out the Brighton Komedia in support of the latest ten acts to grace the competition.

As always, we were joined by Executive Producer Alison Vernon-Smith, Producer Lianne Coop and Chortle's Steve Bennett on the judging panel, with the brilliant Zoe Lyons joining the panel for the event and 2011 winner Angela Barnes storming the stage on hosting duties.

At the end of the heats, two runners-up will be selected by the judges to go straight through one of our two semi-finals. Eight more runners-up will be chosen to compete online in a wildcard vote, where you'll be able to watch more footage of each performer and vote for who you think deserves a place in the semi-final. Voting will open once all the heats have taken place on the BBC Radio 2 website.

Brighton is known as a thriving hub of creativity, and you can hear the evidence of this in our choice of local music, which this week features solo DJ Bonobo and the utterly unique act The Go! Team.

Acts: Alex Petrovic, William Peck, Lucy Beaumont, Graham Whistler, Nabil Abdulrashid, Jonny Lennard, Laurie Rowan, Adam Smith, Sam Savage, David Elms
Host: Angela Barnes
Guest judge: Zoe Lyons

The Go! Team

Release date: 28 Sep 2012

6 minutes

This clip is from

Featured in...

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss