iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Symphony no. 2 in C minor (Resurrection) for soprano, alto, chorus and orchestra by Gustav Mahler
Image for Strauss: Metamorphosen

Strauss: Metamorphosen

Duration: 32:58

Richard Strauss conceived his late masterpiece for twenty-three solo strings as a memorial for a lost musical culture, particularly the bombing of the Munich Opera House, scene of so many of his operatic triumphs.

In this workshop session Charles Hazlewood and his ensemble, Excellent Device explore the musical detail behind this very personal work, revealing in the process how strongly the shadow of Beethoven is cast over the music, particularly the Eroica Symphony.

Available since: Thu 5 May 2011


Richard Strauss

This clip is from

Discovering Music Strauss: Metamorphosen

Charles Hazlewood explores the musical detail behind Richard Strauss's Metamorphosen.

First broadcast: 09 Apr 2005

Image for Strauss: Metamorphosen Not currently available

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss