iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Mendelssohn: Overtures

Mendelssohn: Overtures

Duration: 55:47

Stephen Johnson is joined by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and conductor Benjamin Ellin for an exploration of the musical workings of three of Mendelssohn 'symphonic poems' - A Midsummer Night's Dream, Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage and The Hebrides.

Available since: Wed 4 May 2011

This clip is from

Discovering Music Mendelssohn Overtures

Stephen Johnson explores three of Mendelssohn's symphonic poems.

First broadcast: 08 Jun 2008

Image for Mendelssohn Overtures Not currently available

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss