Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor (Op. 23)

Unplayable and worthless are not adjectives used to describe Tchaikovsky's first piano concerto today. Yet this was the opinion of Tchaikovsky's colleague Nicolai Rubinstein when he was asked about the concerto's technical feasibility. Sarah Walker stands in for Tchaikovsky as she examines why Rubinstein might have said that, and how to the contrary of that opinion Tchaikovsky's defiance of the expected instead created one of the best loved of all piano concertos. Musical examples are played by Yevgeny Sudbin with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra conducted by Julian Clayton.

Release date:

45 minutes

Last on

Sun 13 Jul 2003 17:00

Composers A to Z


Visit the extensive audio archive of Radio 3 programmes about Composers and their works.