Image for Chopin: Piano Concerto No. 1 (Op. 11)

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Chopin: Piano Concerto No. 1 (Op. 11)

1 hour, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Sunday 29 April 2007

Stephen Johnson joins the pianist Piers Lane and members of the BBC National Orchestra of Wales conducted by Kenneth Woods for an investigation into the culmination of a distinct genre of concerto. They focus on Chopin's Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor.

Music Played

1 item
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Image for Frédéric Chopin

    Frédéric Chopin Frédéric Chopin - Concerto for piano and orchestra no. 1 (Op.11) in E minor

    Performers: BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Piers Lane (piano)


Stephen Johnson
Piers Lane
Kenneth Woods
BBC National Orchestra of Wales


Composers A to Z


Visit the extensive audio archive of Radio 3 programmes about Composers and their works.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss