iPlayer Radio What's New?
Playing: Concerto for violin (Op.7 No.6) in E flat "Il Pianto d'Arianna" by Pietro Antonio Locatelli
Image for Haydn: Symphony No. 60 in C major (Il Distratto)

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Haydn: Symphony No. 60 in C major (Il Distratto)

1 hour
First broadcast:
Saturday 19 November 2005

Charles Hazlewood and the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra explore the key ingredients of the classical symphony for which Joseph Haydn was predominantly responsible. They use as their exemplar Haydn's Symphony No.60 in C (Il Distratto) - a six movement work from 1774 fashioned from incidental music which he had composed for an adaptation of a French play, Le Distrait, by Francois Regnard.

Music Played

1 item
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Image for Joseph Haydn

    Joseph Haydn Symphony no. 60 (H.1.60) in C major "Il Distratto"

    Performers: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra


Charles Hazlewood
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra


Composers A to Z


Visit the extensive audio archive of Radio 3 programmes about Composers and their works.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss