iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Two Different Sets of People

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Two Different Sets of People

58 minutes
First broadcast:
Sunday 31 August 2014

by Anthony Trollope, dramatised by Nick Warburton

For young Mark Robarts, life as the Vicar of Framley can sometimes feel a little too quiet. So, risking the wrath of Lady Lufton and leaving his wife and children, he heads off for the allure of country house parties, little knowing the repercussions which are in store.

Music composed by David Robin, Jeff Meegan and Julian Gallant

Produced & directed by Marion Nancarrow

Framley Parsonage is the fourth book in the Barchester Chronicles and the focus moves to Framley and its young vicar, Mark Robarts. Friend of the local landowner's son, the dashing Lord Lufton, Mark cannot resist the lure of celebrity beyond his own village. But he's to risk everything in his ambitious pursuits, including his devoted wife and children and his sister's happiness.

The Barchester Chronicles is Anthony Trollope's much-loved series of witty, gently satirical stories of provincial life set within the fictional cathedral town of Barchester and the surrounding county of Barsetshire. With a focus on the lives, loves and tribulations of the local clergy and rural gentry, the canvas is broad and colourful, with a wonderful set of iconic characters whose lives we become intimately involved in as they grow up, grow old and fall in or out of love and friendship across the years.


Mrs Baxter
Maggie Steed
Mark Robarts
Pip Carter
Fanny Robarts
Charity Wakefield
Lady Lufton
Kate Buffery
Lord Lufton
Joe Coen
Lucy Robarts
Sarah Ovens
Mr Sowerby
Nicholas Farrell
Miss Dunstable
Hattie Morahan
Mrs Proudie
Joanna Monro
Harold Smith
Clive Hayward
Dr Forrest
Clive Hayward
Mrs Smith
Elaine Claxton
Elaine Claxton
Sarah Sweeney
Dr Robarts
David Cann
David Cann
David Cann
David Cann
Marion Nancarrow
Nick Warburton
Anthony Trollope


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss