Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Live from the Queen's Hall in Edinburgh Pianist Michael Houstoun performs music by fellow New Zealander Douglas Lilburn, lyrical masterpieces by Vaughan Williams and Rachmaninov, as well as Ravel's Tombeau de Couperin, written in memory of friends who died during the First World War.

Vaughan Williams: Suite for solo piano
Ravel: Tombeau de Couperin

11.40 (during the interval)
Renaissance choral music by Josquin Desprez, Jean Mouton and Orlande de Lassus

Lilburn: Chaconne
Rachmaninov: Sonata no.2 (original version)

Michael Houstoun, piano.

Release date:

2 hours

Last on

Tue 19 Aug 2014 11:00