Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Martha Argerich and Friends

The Martha Argerich Project, live from the RSI Auditorium, Lugano.
Presented by Petroc Trelawny.

Anton Rubinstein: Piano Quintet in G minor, Op 99
Lilya Zilberstein (piano),
Andrey Baranov (violin),
Lucia Hall (violin),
Nora Romanoff (viola),
Jorge Bosso (cello).

Beethoven: Variations on "Ein MÃdchen oder Weibchen", Op 66
Mischa Maisky (cello),
Martha Argerich (piano).

Prokofiev: Sonata No 1 in F minor, Op 80
Mayu Kishima (violin),
Alexander Gurning (piano).

The Martha Argerich Project, a series of master classes and concerts given in locations throughout the Swiss town of Lugano, is now in its 13th year. Conceived as a platform for well-known and young musicians to share the stage while playing together, it has launched the career of many a soloist. Tonight's concert features Martha Argerich herself playing with Mischa Maisky and opens with a rarely heard quintet by Anton Rubinstein.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Sun 22 Jun 2014 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.