iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Royal Northern Sinfonia - Mozart, Bartok, John Casken, Beethoven

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Royal Northern Sinfonia - Mozart, Bartok, John Casken, Beethoven

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Wednesday 11 June 2014

Live from Sage Gateshead
Presented by Tom Redmond

Mozart: Overture - Don Giovanni
Bartók: Viola Concerto

c. 8.00pm Interval: chamber music performed by Thomas Zehetmair

c. 8.20pm
John Casken: That Subtle Knot - double concerto for violin, viola and orchestra (World Premiere)

Beethoven: Symphony No.5 in C minor

Royal Northern Sinfonia
Ruth Killius, viola
Thomas Zehetmair, conductor/violin

Thomas Zehetmair's last evening at Sage Gateshead as Music Director of Royal Northern Sinfonia arrives with a concert of big gestures: Mozart's imposing overture, Bartók's insistent Viola Concerto, and the world premiere of John Casken's That Subtle Knot, co-commissioned by Thomas Zehetmair, Ruth Killius and Sage Gateshead for Royal Northern Sinfonia. And the concert ends with a mighty gesture - Beethoven's immortal Fifth Symphony.

During the interval we will hear a selection of chamber music performed by tonight's conductor and violin soloist, Thomas Zehetmair.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss