Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Aldeburgh Festival 2014 - Christian Blackshaw

Live from Snape Maltings as part of the Aldeburgh Festival

Presented by Tom McKinney

Pianist Christian Blackshaw plays sonatas by Beethoven, Schubert and Mozart.

Mozart: Sonata in F K533/494
Beethoven: Sonata in E Op.109

Interval - Looking ahead to some of the highlights of this year's Aldeburgh Festival.

Schubert: Sonata in C minor D958

Three musical revolutionaries epitomised in some of their greatest piano works: Mozart's exquisite introspection and harmonic daring; Beethoven, mercurial, fluid, fleet-footed; and Schubert's imposing, impassioned defiance, the first of his titanic triptych of late works for the instrument.

The poise, clarity and character of Christian Blackshaw's playing - revelling in inner detail, illuminating and strengthening the musical architecture - ensures fresh insights into these most radical of landmarks in the piano repertoire.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Tue 17 Jun 2014 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.