Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


Jonathan Swain presents works by Czech composer Vilem Blodek.

1:01 AM
Smetana, Bedrich [1824-1884]
Overture to The Bartered Bride (1870)
BBC Symphony Orchestra, Jirí Belohlávek (conductor)

1:08 AM
Blodek, Vilem [1834-1874]
Music for the Shakespeare Celebrations - suite for orchestra
Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra, Ondrej Kukal (conductor)

1:35 AM
Smetana, Bedrich (1824-1884)
Vltava (Moldau) - from 'Ma Vlast'
BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Richard Hickox (conductor)

1:48 AM
Blodek, Vilem [1834-1874]
Flute Concerto in D major
Jirí Válek (flute), Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra, Ondrej Kukal (conductor)

2:05 AM
Dvorak, Antonin [1841-1904]
Ach, neni tu (Nothing can change for me) (Op.73 No.3) - V národnim tónu (In Folk Tone),
Hana Blaziková (soprano), Wojciech Switala (piano)

2:09 AM
Janácek, Leos (1854-1928)
Sonata 1.x.1905 for piano in E flat minor, 'Z ulice' (From the street)
Pedja Muzijevic (piano)

2:21 AM
Blodek, Vilem [1834-1874]
Symphony in D minor
Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra, Ondrej Kukal (conductor)

3:01 AM
Biber, Heinrich Ignaz von (1644-1704)
Sonata violino solo representativa for violin and continuo in A major
Elizabeth Wallfisch (Baroque violin), Rosanne Hunt (cello), Linda Kent (harpsichord)

3:12 AM
Handel, Georg Frideric (1685-1759)
Ode for St Cecilia's day "From harmony, from heav'nly harmony" (HWV.76)
Birgitte Christensen (soprano), Ulf Øyen (tenor),The oratory choir Caeciliaforeningen, Norwegian National Opera Choir and Orchestra, Arnulv Hegstad (conductor)

4:04 AM
Debussy, Claude (1862-1918)
L'Isle joyeuse
Jane Coop (piano)

4:10 AM
Fauré, Gabriel (1845-1924) [text: Romaine Bussine]
Après un rêve (Op.7 No.1) (1878)
Paula Hoffman (mezzo soprano), Bengt-Åke Lundin (piano)

4:13 AM
Faure, Gabriel [1845-1924], text by Hugo, Victor
Le Papillon et la fleur (Op.1 No.1)
Paula Hoffman (mezzo-soprano), Bengt-Åke Lundin (piano)

4:16 AM
Medins, Janis (1890-1966)
Flower Waltz - from the ballet 'Victory of Love'
Liepaja Symphony Orchestra, Imants Resnis (conductor)

4:21 AM
Janacek, Leos [1854-1928]
Pohadka for cello and piano
Jonathan Slaatto (cello), Martin Qvist Hansen (piano)

4:32 AM
Rore, Cipriano de (c1515-1565)
Qualhor rivolgo' (Whenever I direct my lowly thoughts, Lord, to thee on high, and see my defects....)
The Consort of Musicke, Anthony Rooley (director): Emma Kirkby (soprano), Mary Nichols (alto), Andrew King (tenor), Paul Agnew (tenor), Alan Ewing (bass)

4:39 AM
Beethoven, Ludwig van [1770 -1827]
Leonora Overture No.3 (Op.72b)
Slovenian RTV Symphony Orchestra, Anton Nanut (conductor)

4:53 AM
Grieg, Edvard (Hagerup) [1843-1907]
Norwegian Dance No.1 (Op.35) for piano duet
Leif Ove Andsnes & Håvard Gimse (piano)

5:01 AM
Strauss (ii), Johann [1825-1899]
Schatz-Walzer ('Treasure Waltz') from Der Zigeunerbaron (Op.418)
Kitchener-Waterloo Symphony Orchestra, Raffi Armenian (conductor)

5:10 AM
Waissel, Matthäus (c.1535/40-1602)
Three Polish Dances for lute
Jacob Heringman (lute)

5:13 AM
Szymanowski, Karol (1882-1937)
Polish Dances
Jerzy Godziszewski (piano)

5:22 AM
Schreker, Franz (1878-1934)
Valse Lente
Symphony Nova Scotia, Georg Tintner (conductor)

5:27 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1759-1791)
4 Kontra Tänze (KV.267)
English Chamber Orchestra, Mitsuko Uchida (conductor)

5:34 AM
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Il'yich (1840-1893)
Swan Lake (ballet suite)
Slovenian Radio and Television Symphony Orchestra, Marko Munih (conductor)

5:56 AM
Forqueray, Jean-Baptiste (1699-1782)
La Morangis, ou La Plissay - chaconne (from 'Pièces de Viole, Paris, 1747')
Pierre Pitzl and Mary Jean Bolli (violas da gamba), Luciano Contini (archlute), Augusta Campagne (harpsichord)

6:03 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
French Suite No.2 in C minor for keyboard (BWV.813)
Cristian Niculescu (piano)

6:17 AM
Bridge, Frank (1879-1941)
No.2 in G minor, 'Hornpipe' - from 'Miniatures', set 3 for violin, cello and piano
Moshe Hammer (violin), Tsuyoshi Tsutsumi (cello), William Tritt (piano)

6:21 AM
Gluck, Christoph Willibald (1714-1787)
Dances of the Furies - ballet music from 'Orphée et Euridice'
Australian Brandenburg Orchestra, Paul Dyer (conductor)

6:25 AM
Stravinsky, Igor (1882-1971)
The Firebird (suite - version 1919)
Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Jukka-Pekka Saraste (conductor)

6:46 AM
Ravel, Maurice [1875-1937]
La Valse - version for 2 pianos
Dina Yoffe & Daniel Vaiman (pianos).

Release date:

6 hours

Last on

Sat 7 Jun 2014 01:00