iPlayer Radio What's New?
On Now : The Essay
Anglo-Saxon Portraits - The Peasant Farmer, Three 'Alpha Females' and Lawmakers
Image for OAE - Schutz, Rosenmuller and Praetorius.

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

OAE - Schutz, Rosenmuller and Praetorius.

2 hours
First broadcast:
Friday 06 June 2014

Live from Christ Church, Spitalfields
Presented by Penny Gore

The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment at the Spitalfields Festival, with works by Schütz, Rosenmüller and Praetorius.

Rein: Sancta Trinitas
M. Praetorius: Missa à 8 from Musarum Sioniarum
Rosenmüller: Sinfonia Settima in G

8.45: Interval

M. Praetorius: Ich ruf zu dir; Jubilate Domino; Vater unser in Himmelreich
Rosenmüller: Sonata prima à 2
Schütz: Magnificat SWV468

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
Choir of the Enlightenment
Robert Howarth, director

The Orchestra of the Age Enlightenment, an Associate Artist at this year's Spitalfields Festival, open their concert with works by Praetorius and Schütz, two of 17th-century Germany's most significant musical personalities. In this concert music resounds from all corners of Christ Church Spitalfields in expressive, overlapping multi-choir harmonies. The audience will also be part of the music, performing chorales with the musicians as would have happened in the Lutheran church.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss