Sorry, this episode is not currently available

It is the final of the competition and celebrity judges Gareth Malone, Laura Mvula and Suzi Digby must choose which one of the best junior and senior school choirs in the country gets to take home the trophy.

David Grant presents.

Release date:

45 minutes

Last on

Sun 11 May 2014 17:45

Factsheet for Sunday 11th May, 2014

David Grant presents The Final of the School Choir of The Year competition from the International Convention Centre, Birmingham. Three of the best Junior School Choirs and three of the best Senior School Choirs perform an inspirational song of their choice in front of judges Gareth Malone, Suzi Digby and Laura Mvula. Only one choir from each category can win the trophy. There will also be a performance of ‘We Shall Overcome’ by Laura Mvula accompanied by Gareth Malone’s choir ‘Voices’ with Gareth himself conducting.

Junior School Finalists

Ysgol Iolo Morganwg

Lindley Junior School

Llangennech Junior School

Senior School Finalists

Highgate School

The Rochester Grammar School

Hereford Cathedral School


Renowned Musical Director Gareth Malone joins School Choir of The Year for the first time this year. After working at the London Symphony Orchestra directing their youth and community choirs he presented and worked with numerous choirs on the programme ‘The Choir’ and ‘Sing while you work.’

Gareth is joined by Suzi Digby who returns for her fourth year as Judge for the programme. Suzi is founder of The Voices Foundation and has worked all over the world training and conducting choirs. She has won an OBE for services to music education.

Laura Mvula completes the judging panel. Laura began her singing career with her aunt’s a capella group “Black Voices”. She studied at Birmingham Conservatoire where she graduated with a degree in composition and recently appeared with Tinie Tempah at the BAFTA’s.


Role Contributor
PresenterDavid Grant
JudgeGareth Malone
JudgeLaura Mvula
JudgeSuzi Digby
ProducerMatthew Napier
Executive ProducerDavid Taviner

Songs of Praise is on Twitter

Songs of Praise is on Twitter

Follow us for inspiring music and stories - Christianity in all its diversity.

Related Links