Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

The Wroclaw Baroque Orchestra and Giovanni Antonini

Giovanni Antonini conducts the Wroclaw Baroque Orchestra in Schubert, Mozart and Mendelssohn. With Catriona Young.

1:01 AM
Schubert, Franz [1797-1828]
Overture in D major D.590 (in the Italian style)
Wroclaw Baroque Orchestra, Giovanni Antonini (conductor)

1:09 AM
Mendelssohn, Felix [1809-1847]
Infelice - concert aria Op. 94 for soprano and orchestra
Julia Lezhneva (soprano), Wroclaw Baroque Orchestra, Giovanni Antonini (conductor)

1:22 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus [1756-1791]
Exsultate, jubilate - motet K.165 for soprano and orchestra
Julia Lezhneva (soprano), Wroclaw Baroque Orchestra, Giovanni Antonini (conductor)

1:38 AM
Handel, Georg Frideric [1685-1759]
Lascia la spina, from Il Trionfo del tempo e del disinganno
Julia Lezhneva (soprano), Wroclaw Baroque Orchestra, Giovanni Antonini (conductor)

1:46 AM
Mendelssohn, Felix [1809-1847]
Symphony No. 4 in A major, Op.90 (Italian)
Wroclaw Baroque Orchestra, Giovanni Antonini (conductor)

2:15 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus [1756-1791]
Overture to Ascanio in Alba, K.111
Wroclaw Baroque Orchestra, Giovanni Antonini (conductor)

2:19 AM
Wolf, Hugo (1860-1903)
Italian Serenade for string quartet
Ljubljana String Quartet

2:28 AM
Stravinsky, Igor (1882-1971)
Suite italienne for violin and piano (1925)
Alena Baeva (violin), Giuzai Karieva (piano)

2:45 AM
Dohnányi, Ernõ (1877-1960)
Symphonic Minutes (Op.36)
Hungarian Radio Orchestra, Tamás Vásáry (conductor)

3:01 AM
Rachmaninov, Sergey (1873-1943)
Concerto for piano and orchestra No.3 in D minor (Op.30)
Nelson Goerner (piano), Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, Matthias Aesbacher (conductor)

3:42 AM
Beethoven, Ludwig van [1770 -1827]
Violin Sonata in E flat major Op.12'3
Alexandra Soumm (violin), Julien Quentin (piano)

4:02 AM
Glazunov, Alexander Konstantinovich (1865-1936)
Chant du ménestrel (Op.71) vers. for cello and orchestra
Shauna Rolston (cello), Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, Mario Bernardi (conductor)

4:07 AM
Lully, Jean-Baptiste (1632-1687)
Plainte d'Armide for voice & basso continuo
Isabelle Poulenard (soprano), Ricercar Consort, Henri Ledroit (conductor)

4:15 AM
Puccini, Giacomo (1858 -1924)
I Crisantemi for string quartet
Moyzes Quartet

4:22 AM
Ponchielli, Amilcare (1834-1886)
Capriccio for oboe and piano (Op.80)
Wan-Soo Mok (oboe), Hyun-Soo Chi (piano)

4:33 AM
Avison, Charles (1709-1770), after Domenico Scarlatti
Concerto Grosso No.2 in G major for strings and continuo
Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra, Jeanne Lamon (director)

4:46 AM
Grainger, Percy (1882-1961)
Ramble on the last Love Duet in Richard Strauss's opera 'Der Rosenkavalier'
Dennis Hennig (piano)

4:54 AM
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Il'yich (1840-1893)
Waltz from 'Sleeping Beauty'
Edmonton Symphony Orchestra, Uri Mayer (conductor)

5:01 AM
Suppé, Franz von (1819-1895)
Overture - from The Light Cavalry
Slovenian Radio and Television Symphony Orchestra, Marko Munih (conductor)

5:09 AM
Haydn, Joseph (1732-1809)
Symphony no.4 (H.1.4) in D major
Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra Bratislava, Ondrej Lenárd (conductor)

5:20 AM
Dautrecourt, Augustin (?-c.1695) (aka Monsieur de Sainte-Colombe)
Concert à Deux Violes no.44, 'Tombeau des Regrets'
Violes Esgales: Susie Napper and Margaret Little (viols)

5:30 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Toccata for keyboard in D major (BWV.912)
Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)

5:42 AM
Poulenc, Francis (1899-1963)
Concert champêtre for harpsichord and orchestra
Jory Vinikour (harpsichord), Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra, Marc Minkowski (conductor)

6:08 AM
Darzinš, Emils (1875-1910)
Melanholiskais valsis (Melancholy waltz) for orchestra
Latvian National Symphony Orchestra, Leonids Vigners (conductor)

6:16 AM
Strauss, Richard (1864-1949)
Der Abend (Op.34 No.1) for 16-part choir
Danish National Radio Choir, Stefan Parkman (conductor)

6:25 AM
Mahler, Gustav (1860-1911)
5 Rückert-Lieder
Jadwiga Rappé (alto), Ewa Poblocka (piano)

6:44 AM
Chausson, Ernest [1855-1899]
Poème, Op.25 (version for violin, string quartet and piano)
Philippe Graffin (violin), Jorgen Larsen (piano), Skampa Quartet.

Release date:

6 hours

Last on

Sun 18 May 2014 01:00