Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Handel, Vivaldi and Corelli from Rachel Podger and Arte dei Suonatori, celebrating the year 1714

Live from St. John's Smith Square as part of the Lufthansa Festival of Baroque Music 2014

Presented by Ian Skelly

Handel: Overture and Suite from Rinaldo
Veracini: Violin Sonata in E minor, Op.1 No.6
Geminiani: Concerto grosso in D major (after Corelli's Op.5 No.1)
Corelli: Concerto grosso in F major, Op.6 No.6
Handel: Concerto grosso in B flat, Op.6 No.7
Vivaldi: Violin Concerto in D minor, Op.4 No.8, RV 249

Rachel Podger (violin)
Arte dei Suonatori, Aureliusz Golinski (violin & director)

Polish ensemble Arte dei Suonatori and violinist Rachel Podger perform a specially devised programme of orchestral and instrumental works by five leading European composers, including concertos by Vivaldi and Corelli published in 1714, music from Handel's first London opera (revived that same year), and a 'sequel' to Corelli's Op.6 ingeniously fashioned in London by his pupil Geminiani.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Sat 17 May 2014 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.