Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

BBC Philharmonic - Mendelssohn, Schumann, Mahler

Juanjo Mena conducts the BBC Philharmonic in Mendelssohn's Fingal's Cave overture and Mahler's First Symphony. Stephen Hough joins them as soloist in Schumann's Piano Concerto.

Live from the Bridgewater Hall in Manchester

Presented by Christopher Cook

Mendelssohn: Overture, The Hebrides (Fingal's Cave)
Schumann: Piano Concerto

Recordings by tonight's soloist, Stephen Hough

Mahler: Symphony No 1

Nature in all its gentleness and wildness colours this programme of romantic music, from the gentle first notes of Mahler's Symphony, with its blossoming of Spring and birdcalls, to a depiction of turbulent seas off the West coast of Scotland as experienced by the twenty year old Mendelssohn on a visit there. Schumann's great outpouring of his love for Clara is epitomised in his effervescent Piano Concerto.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 2 May 2014 19:30


Role Contributor
PerformerBBC Philharmonic

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.