Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 3

Katie Derham presents a concert from Melbourne Town Hall with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra - of which he has recently become Principal Conductor. The concert begins with an arrangement by Davis of Bach's Passacaglia and Fugue and ends with Brahms 2nd Symphony. Between the two, Cameron Carpenter is the soloist in Poulenc's Organ Concerto.

The programme ends with a nod towards tomorrow's Strauss 150 Opera Matinee - Feuersnot - Fire Famine. Strauss's one-act comedy upbraiding the residents of Munich for their indifference and hostility towards one of Strauss's heroes - Wagner.

Bach arranged Andrew Davis
Passacaglia and Fugue in C minor, BWV 582

Organ Concerto in G minor
Cameron Carpenter (soloist)

Symphony No. 2 in D, op. 73
Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Sir Andrew Davis

Overture to Die Meistersinger
Montreal Symphony Orchestra, Ludovic Morlot (conductor).

Release date:

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Wed 12 Mar 2014 14:00