Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio


Young Hungarian violinist Adam Banda performs Bach, Beethoven and Sarasate. With Catriona Young

12:31 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian [1685-1750]
Chaconne in D minor, from 'Partita No. 2, BVW 1004'
Adám Banda (violin)

12:46 AM
Beethoven, Ludwig van [1770 -1827]
Sonata in E flat major Op.12'3 for violin and piano
Adám Banda (violin), Orsolya Soós (piano)

1:06 AM
Chausson, Ernest [1855-1899]
Poème for violin and piano Op.25 (dedicated to Ysaye) (1896)
Adám Banda (violin), Orsolya Soós (piano)

1:20 AM
Saint-Saens, Camille [1835-1921]
Introduction and rondo capriccioso (Op.28), arr. for violin & piano
Adám Banda (violin), Orsolya Soós (piano)

1:30 AM
Sarasate, Pablo de [1844-1908]
Zigeunerweisen (violin and piano version) (Op.20)
Adám Banda (violin), Orsolya Soós (piano)

1:38 AM
Hubay, Jeno [1858-1937]
Scène de la csárda No. 4 in E, op. 32 ('Hejre Kati')
Adám Banda (violin), Orsolya Soós (piano)

1:45 AM
Granados, Enrique [1867-1916]
Andaluza, Spanish Dance No. 5, from 12 Spanish Dances (Op 37)
Adám Banda (violin), Orsolya Soós (piano)

1:49 AM
Kodály, Zoltán (1882-1967)
Hary János Suite (Op.35a) - extracts
The Hungarian Radio Orchestra, Tamás Vásáry (conductor)

2:12 AM
Erkel, Ferenc (1810-1893), Vieuxtemps, Henri [1820-1881]
Duo Brillant Duo brillant en forme de fantaisie sur des airs hongrois concertant

2:31 AM
Dutsch, Otto (c.1823-1863)
The Croatian Girl: overture
Danish Radio Concert Orchestra, Hannu Koivula (conductor)

2:43 AM
Fauré, Gabriel (1845-1924)
Sonata no. 2 in G minor Op.117 for cello and piano
Torleif Thedén (cello), Roland Pöntinen (piano)

3:02 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
Brandenburg concerto No.5 (BWV.1050) in D major
Per Flemstrøm (flute), Andrew Manze (violin), Andreas Staier (harpsichord), Risør Festival Strings

3:23 AM
Förster, Kaspar (1616-1673)
Beatus vir (KBPJ.3) for soprano, alto, bass, 2 violins & basso continuo
Marta Boberska (soprano), Kai Wessel (countertenor), Grzegorz Zychowicz (bass), Il Tempo Baroque Ensemble

3:32 AM
Suk, Josef (1874-1935)
Elegie (Op.23) arr. for piano trio
Aronowitz Ensemble

3:40 AM
Parry, Sir Charles Hubert Hastings (1848-1918) orch. Gordon Jacob
I was glad (Psalm 122)
Vancouver Bach Choir, Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, Bruce Pullan (conductor)

3:45 AM
Chopin, Fryderyk (1810-1849)
Etude in E major (Op.10 No.3)
Jane Coop (piano)

3:50 AM
Müthel, Johann Gottfried (1728-1788)
Polonaise for bassoon, strings and continuo in G major
Musica Alta Ripa

3:54 AM
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897)
Variations on a theme by Haydn (Op.56a)
Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Simone Young (conductor)

4:14 AM
Haydn, Joseph (1732-1809)
Keyboard Sonata in E flat major, Hob.XVI/38
Andreas Staier (fortepiano)

4:25 AM
Moniuszko, Stanislaw (1819-1872)
Gypsy Dance - from the idyll 'Jawnuta' (The Gypsies)
Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Jerzy Salwarowski (conductor)

4:31 AM
Cavalieri, Emilio de' (1550-1602)
O che nuovo miracolo - (Venice 1591)

4:37 AM
Walton, William (1902-1983)
Johannesburg Festival Overture
Stavanger Symphony Orchestra, David Atherton (conductor)

4:45 AM
Gilse, Jan van (1881-1944)
String Quartet (Unfinished, 1922)
Ebony Quartet

4:55 AM
Monteverdi, Claudio (1567-1643)
Confitebor tibi Domine - motet for voice and 5 viols
Jill Feldman (soprano), Les Arts Florissants, William Christie (harpsichord and director)

5:08 AM
Escosa, John B. (1928-1991)
Three Dances for 2 harps
Julia Shaw and Nora Bumanis (harps)

5:14 AM
Liszt, Franz (1811-1886)
Orpheus - symphonic poem S.98 for orchestra
Hungarian State Orchestra, János Ferencsik (conductor)

5:26 AM
Schubert, Franz (1797-1828) transcr Liszt, Franz (1811-1886)
Die Forelle (S.564)
Simon Trpceski (piano)

5:30 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Clarinet Quintet in A major (K.581)
Kimball Sykes (clarinet), Pinchas Zukerman (violin), Donnie Deacon (violin), Jane Logan (viola), Amanda
Forsyth (cello)

6:04 AM
Diepenbrock, Alphons (1862-1921)
La Chanson de l'Hypertrophique
Roberta Alexander (soprano), Rudolf Jansen (piano)

6:08 AM
Diepenbrock, Alphons (1862-1921) text: Paul Verlaine (1844-1896)
Roberta Alexander (soprano), Rudolf Jansen (piano)

6:10 AM
Diepenbrock, Alphons (1862-1921) text: Paul Verlaine (1844-1896)
Clair de Lune
Roberta Alexander (soprano), Rudolf Jansen (piano)

6:13 AM
Strauss, Richard (1864-1949)
Concerto for horn and orchestra No.1 in E flat major, (Op.11)
Bostjan Lipovsek (french horn), Slovenian Radio and Television Symphony Orchestra, David de Villiers (conductor).

Release date:

6 hours

Last on

Tue 25 Feb 2014 00:30