Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Cantus Colln - Bach

Cantus Colln, directed by Konrad Junghanel, with motets and early cantatas by JS Bach, live from Wigmore Hall.

Presented by Sara Mohr-Pietsch

Cantata: Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen BWV12
Motet: Lobet den Herrn alle Heiden BWV230
Cantata: Gleichwie der Regen und Schnee BWV18

8.15: Interval - music by Bach and his contemporaries.

Cantata: Christ lag in Todesbanden BWV4
Motet: Jesu, meine Freude BWV227

Cantus Cölln
Konrad Junghänel, director

The German vocal ensemble Cantus Cölln and its founder-director, lutenist Konrad Junghänel, approach Bach's work with the minds of musicians steeped not only in the composer's music but also in the styles of composers who influenced his artistic development. A world leader in the historically informed performance of everything from the music of Monteverdi to Buxtehude, Schütz and Weckmann, the ensemble makes its Wigmore Hall debut with an all-Bach programme deeply rooted in the traditions of Lutheran worship. Death and mourning, addressed here in Christ lag in Todesbanden and the funeral motet Jesu, meine Freude, are counterbalanced by the tone of comfort and consolation central to the two Weimar cantatas BWV12 and BWV18.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Tue 18 Feb 2014 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.