Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Louise Fryer introduces recent recordings by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra performing Zarzycki's Mazurka, an arrangement for violin and piano (from a forthcoming commercial release), Sibelius's First Symphony, Beethoven's Violin Concerto with soloist Nicola Benedetti under Martyn Brabbins, and Stravinsky's ballet The Firebird.

Zarzycki - Mazurka, arr. for violin and orchestra
Eugene Ugorski, violin
BBC Scottish S O
Michal Dworzynski, conductor

Sibelius - Symphony No. 1
BBC Scottish SO
Andrew Litton, conductor

Beethoven - Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61
Nicola Benedetti, violin
BBC Scottish SO
Martyn Brabbins, conductor

Stravinsky - The Firebird, ballet
BBC Scottish SO
Matthias Pintscher, conductor.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 21 Feb 2014 14:00