Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

LSO - Elgar, Britten, Maxwell Davies

Live from the Barbican Hall, London

Presented by Penny Gore

Antonio Pappano and the London Symphony Orchestra in British music: Elgar, Britten's Violin Concerto with Maxim Vengerov, and the world premiere of Maxwell Davies's Symphony No.10.

Elgar: In The South (Alassio)
Britten: Violin Concerto
Maxim Vengerov (violin).

During the interval Penny Gore presents music new and old by Maxwell Davies, including 'Farewell to Stromness' and other well-loved pieces.

Maxwell Davies: Symphony No.10 (LSO commission; World Premiere)
Markus Butter (baritone),
London Symphony Chorus,
London Symphony Orchestra,
Antonio Pappano (conductor).

Tonight the London Symphony Chorus and Orchestra premiere a brand-new Symphony by Sir Peter Maxwell Davies - 80 in September, Master of the Queen's Music since 2004, appointed a Companion of Honour in the New Year Honours list. Antonio Pappano conducts the work as the climax of an all-British programme also featuring music by Elgar and Britten - with Russian virtuoso Maxim Vengerov as soloist in Britten's Violin Concerto.

Followed by highlights from last week's RNCM Festival of Brass at the Bridgewater Hall in Manchester, which featured the Black Dyke Band and Foden's Band, as well as the Royal Northern College of Music's own Brass Ensemble.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Sun 2 Feb 2014 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.