Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 2

Today's programme features some of the BBC Philharmonic's principal players in solo pieces. Jennifer Galloway leads us in Vaughan Williams' Oboe Concerto, surrounded by music by two composers with whom Vaughan Williams studied, Ravel, the man who provided what VW called "French polish" and Bruch. The programme ends with a gem of the concerto repertoire as New Generation Artist Louis Schwizgebel is the soloist in Beethoven's First Piano Concerto.

Presented by Katie Derham.

Bruch: Kol Nidrei
Peter Dixon (cello)
BBC Philharmonic
Juanjo Mena (conductor)

Vaughan Williams: Oboe Concerto in A minor
Jennifer Galloway (oboe)
BBC Philharmonic
Juanjo Mena (conductor)

Ravel: Piano Concerto in G major
Louis Lortie (piano)
BBC Philharmonic
Juanjo Mena (conductor)

Dukas: La Peri
BBC Philharmonic
Ludovic Morlot (conductor)

Britten: Gloriana - symphonic suite
Tom Randle (tenor)
BBC Philharmonic
Paul Daniel (conductor)

c. 3.35
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No 1 in C major
Louis Schwizgebel (piano)
BBC Philharmonic
Dominic Wheeler (conductor).

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Tue 28 Jan 2014 14:00