Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 1

This week Afternoon on 3 celebrates the BBC Philharmonic with some highlight performances from last year. There's an English flavour to today: Bantock's Sapphic Poem, Britten's Sinfonia da Requiem, and New Generation Artist Elena Urioste is soloist in Elgar's lyrical Violin Concerto. Plus more romantic concertos, with Mark Simpson performing Weber's 2nd Clarinet Concerto and Jean-Efflam Bavouzet in Prokofiev's Piano Concerto no.5.

Presented by Katie Derham

Weber: Clarinet Concerto No 2 in E flat major
Mark Simpson (clarinet)
BBC Philharmonic
Dominic Wheeler (conductor)

Bantock: Sapphic Poem
Peter Dixon (cello)
BBC Philharmonic
Juanjo Mena (conductor)

c. 2.35pm
Britten: Sinfonia da Requiem
BBC Philharmonic
Paul Daniel (conductor)

Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 5 in G major
Jean-Efflam Bavouzet (piano)
BBC Philharmonic
Gianandrea Noseda (conductor)

Elgar: Violin Concerto in B minor
Elena Urioste (violin)
BBC Philharmonic
Nicholas Collon (conductor).

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Mon 27 Jan 2014 14:00