Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Frustrating the Spark of Invention

Can Able Seaman Johnson win a 'man-powered flight' competition, despite the assistance of Pertwee?

Stars Leslie Phillips as the Sub-Lieutenant, Jon Pertwee as the Chief Petty Officer, Stephen Murray as the Number One, Richard Caldicot as Captain Povey, Heather Chasen as Heather, Ronnie Barker as Able Seaman Johnson, Tenniel Evans as Taffy Goldstein and Michael Bates as the Padre.

Laughs afloat aboard British Royal Navy frigate HMS Troutbridge. The Navy Lark ran for an impressive thirteen series between 1959 and 1976.

Scripted by Lawrie Wyman.

Producer: Alastair Scott Johnston.

First broadcast on the BBC Light Programme in October 1967.

Release date:

30 minutes

Last on

Wed 9 Nov 2016 19:00

Buy online

Buy online

Available on: CD

From suppliers including: Amazon Books

Where to buy