iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for BBC SSO - Elgar, Grieg, Shostakovich

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

BBC SSO - Elgar, Grieg, Shostakovich

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Friday 17 January 2014

The BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra conducted by Donald Runnicles with Lars Vogt play Elgar, Grieg and Shostakovich.

Live from the Music Hall in Aberdeen.
Presented by Donald Macleod.

Part 1
Elgar - Overture: Cockaigne (In London Town)
Grieg - Piano Concerto

20:20 - Interval Music
Movements from Bach Partita in E Major, No. 3, BWV 1006 - James Ehnes (violin)

20.40 Part 2
Shostakovich - Symphony No. 1

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Lars Vogt (Piano)
Donald Runnicles (conductor)

In a concert full of fun and youth, Elgar's vision on Edwardian London is slightly unexpected - pomp and circumstance, yes, but also beauty, comedy and sunset hues - dedicated to his many friends, it was an immediate success. Grieg's ever popular Piano Concerto, played by Lars Vogt, was written when he was just 24, it shows not only his playfulness but also the influence of Norwegian folk music. Donald Runnicles explores the teenage Shostakovich's brilliant first symphony in the second half of the concert. With both liveliness and wit on the one hand, and drama and tragedy on the other, his graduation exercise is a young prodigy's masterpiece.

Music Played

1 item
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes
  • Image for Paul Pabst

    Paul Pabst Paraphrase de Concert sur l'opera Eugene Oneguine

    Performer: Ludmilla Berlinskaia. Performer: Arthur Ancelle.


BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss