Playing: 4 Outings for brass - Slowly; Vivace by André Previn
BBC Radio 3
Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

London Philharmonic - MacMillan, Mahler

Vladimir Jurowski and the LPO perform Mahler's Symphony No 6 and give the world premiere of MacMillan's Viola Concerto with Lawrence Power.

James MacMillan: Viola Concerto (world premiere)
8.00: Interval music - Sonata in F sharp minor Op.61 (Elegie harmonique sur la mort du Prince Louis Ferdinand)

Mahler: Symphony No. 6

Lawrence Power, viola
Vladimir Jurowski, conductor

After the first performance of his Sixth Symphony in 1906, Gustav Mahler could be found sobbing, wringing his hands and pacing frantically in his dressing room. He'd realised that what he'd written offered no escape. This compelling 80-minute orchestral journey ends in resolute tragedy - perhaps the first symphony to paint such a resoundingly dark picture of the human soul with such astonishing purpose and effect. It remains a live music experience like no other, and is preceded in this concert by the world premiere of a new concerto for viola and orchestra by James MacMillan.

Followed by pieces from Making Music's "Adopt a composer" scheme.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Wed 15 Jan 2014 19:30
Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss