Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Penny Gore presents a BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra concert given at their home in Glasgow's City Halls in November with Associate Guest Conductor Andrew Manze. Manze also conducts the orchestra in a Vaughan Williams Symphony, and their Russian concerto series continues with the rarely heard Violin Concerto by Arensky, featuring Ilya Gringolts as soloist.

Respighi: The birds ? suite

Tippett: Concerto for double string orchestra

Mozart: Symphony No 39 in E flat major, K543
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra,
Andrew Manze (conductor).

Arensky: Violin Concerto in A minor, Op 54
Ilya Gringolts (violin),
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra,
Ilan Volkov.
Vaughan Williams: Symphony No 8 in D minor
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra,
Andrew Manze (conductor).

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Tue 14 Jan 2014 14:00