Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

BBC Philharmonic Live

Stuart Flinders presents a live concert by the BBC Philharmonic and their Chief Guest Conductor John Storgards, at MediaCity in Salford. You can hear Carl Nielsen's enigmatic final symphony, an overture by Hindemith - continuing this week's series marking the 50th anniversary of his death - and Shostakovich's well-loved Second Piano Concerto, with Martin Roscoe as soloist.

Hindemith: Cupid and Psyche, Overture

Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No 2

Nielsen: Symphony No 6 (Sinfonia semplice)

Martin Roscoe (piano),
BBC Philharmonic,
John Storgards (conductor).

Release date:

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Wed 11 Dec 2013 14:00