iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for BBC Symphony Orchestra

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

BBC Symphony Orchestra

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Friday 06 December 2013

For the first time ever, Afternoon on 3 has a live concert every day of the week - one by each of the five BBC Orchestras, playing at their respective homes in Cardiff, Salford, London and Glasgow. An American thread runs throughout the week, as part of Afternoon on 3's celebration of American music this autumn.

Today the BBC Symphony Orchestra round off the series with a concert of American favourites live at their home in London's Maida Vale Studio 1, with American conductor Joshua Weilerstein.

Following the concert, Katie Derham presents the BBC National Orchestra of Wales in concert in Truro just a couple of weeks ago. They join forces with local choir the Three Spires Festival Singers to perform a major choral-orchestral work by Cornish composer George Lloyd, born in St. Ives 100 years ago this year (he died in 1998).

LIVE from Maida Vale Studio 1, London
Barber: The School for scandal - overture, Op. 5
Gershwin: Piano Concerto in F major
Bernstein, orch. Ramin and Kostal: Symphonic Dances from West Side Story
Martin Roscoe (piano),
BBC Symphony Orchestra,
Joshua Weilerstein (conductor)

George Lloyd: A Symphonic Mass
Three Spires Festival Singers,
BBC National Orchestra of Wales,
Martyn Brabbins (conductor).

Music Played

4 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes



  1. Image for Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Guide to the Opera

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss