Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Romanian Radio Archives

Romanian National Day. From the archives - George Enescu and Dinu Lippati to rising stars Valentin Serban and Mihai Ritivoiu. With Catriona Young.

1:01 AM
Debussy, Claude [1862-1918]
2 movements from Estampes
Valentin Gheorghiu (piano)

1:11 AM
Debussy, Claude [1862-1918]
Reflets dans l'eau (Image, set 1)
Mihai Ritivoiu (piano)

1:17 AM
Enescu, George [1881-1955]
Sonata for violin and piano no. 2 (Op.6) in F minor
Valentin Serban (violin), Liliana Iacobsescu (piano)

1:43 AM
Schumann, Robert [1810-1856]
Carnaval - scenes mignonnes sur quatre notes for piano (Op.9)
Mihai Ritivoiu (piano)

2:09 AM
Enescu, George [1881-1955]
Sonata for violin and piano no. 3 (Op.25) in A minor "dans le caractere populaire roumain"
George Enescu (violin) Dinu Lipatti (piano)

2:32 AM
Enescu, George [1881-1955]
Nottorno (for violin and piano)
Valentin Serban (violin), Liliana Iacobsescu (piano)

2:39 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Adagio in C (K.580a)
Aurelian Octav Popa (clarinet), Luminita Rogacev (violin), Sanda Cracuin (viola), Anca Varomei (cello)

2:50 AM
Brahms, Johannes [1833-1897]
Intermezzo in A minor (Op. 116 no.2)
Dinu Lipatti (piano)

2:53 AM
Liszt, Franz [1811-1886]
Concert Study no. 2."Gnomenreigen" (S. 145)
Dinu Lipatti (piano)

2:56 AM
Brahms, Johannes [1833-1897]
Intermezzo E flat major (op. 117 no. 1) 'Schlummerlied'
Dinu Lipatti (piano)

3:01 AM
Beethoven, Ludwig van (1770-1827)
Piano Concerto No.3 in C minor (Op.37)
Christian Zacharias (piano), Académie Beethoven, Jean Caeyers (conductor)

3:35 AM
Moniuszko, Stanislaw (1819-1872)
Fairytale, Fantastic Overture (1848)
National Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Antoni Wit (conductor)

3:49 AM
Weber, Carl Maria von [1786-1826]
Konzertstuck in F minor for piano and orchestra (Op.79)
Victoria Postnikova (piano), Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Gennadi Rozhdestvensky (conductor)

4:07 AM
Dvorák, Antonín (1841-1904) orch. Antonín Dvorák
Legend No.4 in C major (Molto maestoso) - from Legends (Op.59) orch. composer (orig. for piano duet)
Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra, Stefan Robl (conductor)

4:13 AM
Handel, Georg Frideric [1685-1759]
Concerto Grosso in F major, op. 6 no. 2, HWV 320
European Union Baroque Orchestra, Lars Ulrik Mortensen (conductor)

4:25 AM
Beethoven, Ludwig van [1770 -1827]
10 Variations on 'Ich bin der Schneider Kakadu' in G major (Op.121a)
Musica Viva Ensemble

4:43 AM
Enescu, George [1881-1955]
Pavane, from Suite for piano, (Op. 10)
Sînziana Denise Mircea (piano),

4:50 AM
Alessandrescu, Alfred (1893-1959)
Symphonic sketch 'Autumn Dawn'
Romanian National Radio Orchestra, Constantin Bobescu (conductor)

5:01 AM
Weber, Carl Maria von [1786-1826]
Der Freischutz - Overture
Romanian Radio National Symphony Orchestra, Viktor Ilieff (condcutor)

5:12 AM
Lipatti, Dinu [1917-1950]
3 Romanian Dances for 2 pianos
Dana Protopopescu, Viniciu Moroianu (pianos)

5:28 AM
Andricu, Mihail (1894-1974)
Sinfonietta No.13 (Op.123)
Romanian National Radio Orchestra, Emanuel Elenescu (conductor)

5:36 AM
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791)
Serenade in G major (K.525), 'Eine Kleine Nachtmusik' (Allegro; Romanze; Menuett; Rondo )
Romanian National Radio Orchestra, Iosif Conta (conductor)

5:52 AM
Porumbescu, Ciprian (1853-1883)
Ballad for Violin and Orchestra
Ion Voicu (violin) (1925-1997), Bucharest Chamber Orchestra, Madalin Voicu (conductor)

5:58 AM
Tchaikovsky, Pytor Il'yich (1840-1893)
Variations on a Rococo Theme for cello and orchestra, Op.33
Romanian National Radio Orchestra, Alexander Rudin (cello and conductor)

6:18 AM
Jora, Mihail (1891-1971)
Sonatine for piano (Op.44)
Ilinca Dumitrescu (piano)

6:29 AM
Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750)
French Suite No.2 in C minor for keyboard (BWV.813) (Allemande; Courante; Sarabande; Air; Menuett; Gigue)
Cristian Niculescu (piano)

6:43 AM
Ravel, Maurice (1875-1937)
Daphnis and Chloé - Suite No.2 (Levée du jour; Pantomime; Danse générale)
Romanian National Chamber Choir "Madrigal", Romanian Philharmonic Choir, Romanian National Radio Orchestra, Iosif Conta (conductor).

Release date:

6 hours

Last on

Sun 1 Dec 2013 01:00