On Now : In Tune
Playing: Ariodante HWV33 Dopo notte by George Frideric Handel
Image for BBC NOW - Prokofiev, Rachmaninov (part 1)

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

BBC NOW - Prokofiev, Rachmaninov (part 1)

50 minutes
First broadcast:
Thursday 28 November 2013

Eivind Gullberg Jensen conducts the BBC National Orchestra of Wales in Rachmaninov's Second Symphony. Nelson Goerner is the soloist in Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No.3.

Live from St David's Hall, Cardiff

Presented by Nicola Heywood Thomas

Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.3

8.05 Interval

Rachmaninov: Symphony No.2

Nelson Goerner (piano)
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Eivind Gullberg Jensen (conductor)

A programme of twentieth-century Russian music featuring one of Rachmaninov's most dearly-loved works, his Second Symphony, and Prokofiev's bittersweet Piano Concerto No.3.

Prokofiev's Third Piano Concerto, written during the composer's exile on the French Channel coast at the beginning of the 1920s, is full of wit and cosmopolitan glamour. Rachmaninov poured his most personal feelings into his monumental Second Symphony; the result is an extraordinary, inexhaustible stream of melody. Norwegian conductor Eivind Gullberg Jensen makes his debut with the BBC National Orchestra of Wales.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss