Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

OAE - Beethoven, Mendelssohn, Schubert (part 2)

Live from the Queen Elizabeth Hall, London

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

The period-instrument Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, directed by Margaret Faultless, performs masterworks by Beethoven and a concerto by Mendelssohn, set alongside one of the glories of the piano duet repertoire - Schubert's mighty F minor Fantasia.

Beethoven: Overture Coriolan, Op 62
Mendelssohn: Concerto in A flat for Two Pianos

8.05 Discovering Music

Schubert: Fantasia in F minor for piano duet D940
Beethoven: Symphony No 8 in F

Robert Levin and Ya-Fei Chuang fortepiano
Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
Margaret Faultless leader/director

Husband-and-wife piano duo Robert Levin and Ya-Fei Chuang join forces with the OAE to perform a youthful concerto by Mendelssohn - composed when he was just 14 years old, and a mature masterpiece by Schubert - the great Fantasia written in the last year of his life. Bookending the programme, the overture Beethoven composed for a play about an ancient Roman leader, and one of his most cheerful and lively symphonies.

Following the concert, a selection from the shortlist of the British Composer Awards, winners to be announced next week.

Release date:

1 hour, 35 minutes

Last on

Tue 26 Nov 2013 20:25

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.