Image for Part 2

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Part 2

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Tuesday 19 November 2013

The BBC National Orchestra of Wales continue their Americana series of live concerts at Hoddinott Hall in Cardiff, presented by Fiona Talkington in conversation with American classical music radio host Fred Child. The orchestra are joined by clarinettist Mark Simpson for John Adams' Gnarly Buttons, and they end with a Ninth Symphony by one of the great American symphonists, Roy Harris.

Following the live concert, Penny Gore continues Afternoon on 3's week-long celebration of American music with vocal pieces by Copland, Barber and Randall Thompson. Plus piano music by Edward McDowell, and the BBC Symphony Orchestra round off the programme with an early 21st-century classic, Elliott Carter's Boston Concerto.

LIVE from Hoddinott Hall, Cardiff
Ned Rorem: Eagles
John Adams: Gnarly buttons for clarinet and ensemble
David Diamond: Rounds for string orchestra
Roy Harris: Symphony No 9
Mark Simpson (clarinet),
BBC National Orchestra of Wales,
Eric Stern (conductor).

Copland: The Lark
Edward Price (baritone),
BBC Singers,
Andrew Griffiths (conductor).

Barber: Andromache's farewell
Mary Plazas (soprano),
BBC Symphony Orchestra,
David Parry (conductor).

Edward MacDowell: Fireside Tales, Op. 61
Richard Uttley (piano solo).

Randall Thompson: Alleluia
BBC Singers,
Andrew Griffiths (conductor).

Elliott Carter: Boston Concerto
BBC Symphony Orchestra,
Oliver Knussen (conductor).

Music Played

8 items
Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes



  1. Image for Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Opera Guides

    Radio 3 Guide to the Opera

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss