iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra - Brahms

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra - Brahms

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Tuesday 29 October 2013

The Leipzig Gewandhausorchester and pianist Pierre-Laurent Aimard, conducted by Riccardo Chailly, play Brahms.
Live from the Barbican Hall, London
Presented by Petroc Trelawny

Brahms: Symphony No 3

8.00: Interval

Brahms: Piano Concerto No 1 in D minor

Pierre-Laurent Aimard, piano
Gewandhausorchester Leipzig
Riccardo Chailly, conductor

Long before he got into his symphonic stride, Brahms attempted to confront his Beethoven-shaped demons through the medium of the piano concerto - the first of which he conceived as the most monumental, original and hard-hitting orchestral achievement since Beethoven's Ninth Symphony. It took Brahms a long time to get his concerto just right, but when he did, he delivered a piece of staggering emotional breadth and new-found virtuosity that still thrills and surprises a century and a half later - the perfect foil to the impulsive flow, profound darkness and compelling depth of his heart-on-sleeve Third Symphony.


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.