Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

The BBC Philharmonic in an afternoon which includes John Foulds's Keltic Suite of 1914, with its once-popular middle movement 'Lament,' and Nielsen's final symphony. There's also the chance to hear a performance of a the symphony that David Matthews wrote to a BBC commission for the BBC Philharmonic's 2010-11 Mahler Festival.
With Louise Fryer

Sibelius: The Bard
BBC Philharmonic, John Storgårds (conductor)

Casella: Le couvent sur l'eau, symphonic fragments
Gillian Keith (soprano), BBC Philharmonic, Gianandrea Noseda (conductor)

c 2.30pm
David Matthews: Symphony No 7
BBC Philharmonic, HK Gruber (conductor)

c. 2.55pm
Foulds: Keltic Suite
BBC Philharmonic, John Storgårds (conductor)

c. 3.10pm
Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No 1
Guy Braunstein (violin),
BBC Philharmonic, John Storgårds (conductor)

c. 3.50pm
Nielsen: Symphony No 6 "Sinfonia semplice"
BBC Philharmonic, John Storgårds (conductor).

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 1 Nov 2013 14:00