Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

BBC Philharmonic - Falla, Prokofiev, Ravel, Stravinsky

The BBC Philharmonic, with Chief Conductor Juanjo Mena, perform music for three ballets of the great Russian choreographer Serge Diaghilev, by de Falla, Stravinsky and Ravel

Live from Nottingham Royal Concert Hall
Presented by Martin Handley

Falla: The Three Cornered Hat - Suite No.1
Prokofiev: Violin Concerto no.2

8.15 - Interval music -

Ravel: Daphnis and Chloë - Suite No. 2
Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring

Akiko Suwanai (violin)
BBC Philharmonic
Juanjo Mena (conductor)

The BBC Philharmonic, with Chief Conductor Juanjo Mena, perform music from three of the ballets of the great Russian impresario and choroegrapher Serge Diaghilev. Falla's warm-hearted and earthy tale of infatuation and seduction contrasts with the mythological lovers depicted in Ravel's sumptuous score. Stravinsky's famous depiction of the the rituals surrounding the arrival of Spring in pagan Russia is amongst his most powerful and visceral compositions - its 1913 premiere creating a notable scandal in modern music.

In music by one of Stravinsky's compatriots, the Japanese violinist Akiko Suwanai joins the BBC Philharmonic before the interval in the dazzling concert showpiece that is Prokofiev's 2nd Violin Concerto.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Wed 9 Oct 2013 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.