Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

BBC SSO - Schnelzer, Rachmaninov, Nielsen (part 1)

The BBC SSO perform Schnelzer, Rachmaninov's 2nd Piano Concerto and Nielsen's 4th Symphony with pianist Denis Kozhukhin and conductor Thomas Dausgaard.

Live From City Halls, Glasgow. Presented by Tom Redmond

Albert Schnelzer: A Freak in Burbank
Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 2

Twenty Minutes

Nielsen: Symphony No 4 "The Inextinguishable"

Denis Kozhukhin (Piano)
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Thomas Dausgaard (Conductor)

The BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, under the baton of Danish conductor Thomas Dausgaard, perform Carl Nielsen's 4th Symphony. Written against the backdrop to the First World War and completed in 1916, it relates to everything that has the spirit of life - that wants to move ... and is inextinguishable. The orchestra also welcomes back the ever popular and quite brilliant Russian pianist Denis Kozhukhin to perform Rachmaninov's best loved piano concerto. The concert starts with a foray into the young Swedish composer Albert Schnelzer's imagination - with images of Haydn and Tim Burton in the mix.

Release date:

40 minutes

Last on

Thu 24 Oct 2013 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.