Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Penny Gore presents recent concerts by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra. The week's focus on five Fifth Symphonies continues with the greatly loved No 5 by Tchaikovsky. The programme also features one of the most exciting overtures in the orchestral repertoire, by Tchaikovsky's Russian forebear Glinka, and two works with tragic connotations: Benjamin Britten's Violin Concerto, coloured by the outbreak of World War Two in 1939, and Mozart's final, unfinished masterpiece - his Requiem, in a performing version by Robert Levin.

Glinka: Overture to Ruslan and Ludmila
Britten: Concerto for violin and orchestra, Op 15
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No 5 in E minor, Op 64
Anthony Marwood (violin),
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra,
Martyn Brabbins (conductor).

Mozart: Requiem in D minor, K626, completed by Robert Levin
Miah Persson (soprano),
Christine Rice (mezzo-soprano),
Jeremy Ovenden (tenor),
Neal Davies (bass),
National Youth Choir of Scotland,
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra,
Donald Runnicles (conductor).

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Tue 22 Oct 2013 14:00