iPlayer Radio What's New?
Image for Scottish Ensemble - Brahms, Walton, Hurt, Suckling

Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Scottish Ensemble - Brahms, Walton, Hurt, Suckling

2 hours, 30 minutes
First broadcast:
Monday 21 October 2013

The Scottish Ensemble and Artistic Director Jonathan Morton play Brahms, Walton, Leopold Hurt and Martin Suckling.

Live from The Music Hall, Aberdeen.

Walton: Sonata for Strings
Leopold Hurt: Dead Reckoning

8.10: Interval

Martin Suckling: Musical Postcards 1-4
Brahms: String Quintet No. 2 in G Major, Op. 111 (arr. Morton)

Jonathan Morton, Artistic Director/violin

A programme of classic and new works by British and German composers for String Ensemble; Walton's personal string sonata is followed by Hurt's work inspired by shipping navigation systems.
After the interval, the first complete performance of young Scottish composer Martin Suckling's Musical Postcards is followed by Brahms's richly textured second String Quintet.


Music and The Great War on BBC Playlister


Explore the story of World War One through the music of the time with BBC Playlister.

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.

Added. Check out your playlist Dismiss